UNL Society of Women Engineers


SWE's Mission

SWE aims to empower women and underrepresented individuals to achieve full potential in careers as engineers and leaders, expand the image of the engineering and technology professions as a positive force in improving the quality of life, and demonstrate the value of diversity and inclusion.

Join SWE!

Contact us at unlswengineers@gmail.com for more information on joining SWE.

  • Xuan Le, Brianna Ryan
    Officers introducing freshman to SWE at the 2021 club fair.
  • Tessa Yackley, Aspen Schoenrock, Xuan Le, Makena Foley Nevaeh Hall
    Officers attended a 2021 football game together.
  • Girls Inc students and Dr. Flodman
    Dr. Flodman showing his lab to a group of Girls Inc students for SWE 2022 Eureka Outreach event.
  • Brianna Ryan, Aspen Schoenrock, Maddie Galusha, Xuan Le, Nevaeh Hall
    SWE officers and members attend 2021 Women in Engineering conference put on by National SWE in Chicago.
  • Tessa Yackley
    Officer attended Kiewit’s Women in Construction and Engineering Leadership Conference put on by Women in Kiewit.

SWE Goals

Professional excellence
  • SWE will be the premier resource for women and underrepresented individuals in engineering and technology seeking growth and advancement at all stages of their careers.
  • SWE will be recognized as a global, inclusive organization, empowering individuals in engineering and technology regardless of gender, geography, or career stage.
  • SWE will be the preeminent advocate for women and underrepresented individuals throughout the engineering and technology pipeline.
Diversity and inclusion
  • SWE will champion diversity in the engineering and technology professions and will promote an inclusive environment.

Check us out on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook for the most current news and events! Also, check out SWE's regional blog.
SWE on Twitter SWE on Instagram SWE on Facebook!

Lincoln Officers

Dr. Christine Wittich Advisor
Brooke Hay Professional Advisor
Tessa Yackley President
Brianna Ryan Vice President
Abby Hebl Secretary
Amber Tannehill Treasurer
Katie Kersten Professional Development Chair
Laurel Wagner Outreach Chair
Aspen Shoenrock Fundraising Chair
Jigyasa Chauhan Graduate Student Advisor

Omaha Officers

Dr. Michelle Eble-Hankins Advisor
Grace Sorensen President
Israel Bryant Vice President
Paige Kudron Secretary
Anuoluwapo Stephanie Adeyemo Treasurer
Maddax Frye Outreach Chair